Vegan doesn’t mean gluten-free

Are you confused by the difference between a vegan and a gluten-free diet? In this short video I explain the difference between those two.

Have a watch and if you’d like to find out more, get in touch and let’s have a chat!

Book an appointment with Personnel Calendar using SetMore

Transcript:

Hi, I wanted to clarify the difference between a vegan and a gluten free diet.

I follow a gluten-free diet and quite often when I mention that to someone they often assume I’m ok eating vegan foods. And that’s not necessarily the case.
So gluten is a protein that’s found in wheat, rye and barley. And it’s often also found in products made with regular oats.
Even though oats are gluten-free by nature, they’re often contaminated by wheat because of the way they’re grown.
So unless certified gluten free, regular oats are a no-no for someone who follows a gluten-free diet.

So essentially a gluten free diet means I cannot eat anything with barley, wheat, rye and regular oats, and that includes oat drinks.

A vegan diet on the other hand, doesn’t mean gluten-free. If someone follows a vegan diet, it means they don’t eat anything that comes from an animal.So they don’t have meat, fish & seafood, eggs, dairy and even honey.

As you noticed wheat, barely, rye and oats they are plant-based foods, they’re grains, so quite often they’re part of the vegan diet.

Being gluten free doesn’t mean you’re ok eating vegan meals. If you go to the restaurant and you see a vegan meal marketed on the menu, don’t assume it’s gluten free, because it’s very likely that it’s not.

Hopefully this clarifies that matter a little bit for you.

If you need more information, please get in touch.

See you next time!

Recent videos

Anna Pinnock Nutrition | Thyroid Expert | Vegan vs gluten free diet | United Kingdom
SCD diet, IBD and Coeliac
an image of Anna Pinnock & Sherry Shaban from a podcast